pretend i didn’t tear your world apart

I haven’t really touched the computer since the last post–crazy holiday madness, I guess.  I’m so not into the Christmas nonsense, and it’s really not over yet. *sigh sigh sigh* I just don’t see the point in stressing out so much.  If we struck out the obligatory gift giving, the obscenely grandiose dinners, and the expectation to spend time with folks we only see once a year for a reason… it could be great.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind gift giving.  I very much enjoy being able to provide someone I love with something s/he’ll love.  It’s great to receive a well thought out gift.  What’s not great, is stressing out over the necessity to purchase something by a certain date.  For everyone.  Then people get gifts they don’t want, won’t use, and will feel guilty returning.  Of course there may be someone who gets you a gift and you didn’t plan  on buying them anything, or you planned a smaller gift than they gave you.  If you didn’t get something from me, don’t fret.  I’d much rather send you a “Christmas” present in May because that’s when I found something that just screamed *you* than give you something in December because it’s December.  As for the dinner, well, yeah, food is great.  It’s nice to have something special sometimes.  But going on 12 grocery runs in 3 days and cooking all day until you feel sick from the effort to please people whose opinions don’t even matter than much? Meh.  And the people? Hey, I’m not anti-family, but sometimes it seems silly to let a holiday be spent with folks driving each other crazy.

My proposal for a better holiday? Spend the time with people who make you feel good, not those who make you feel guilty for your absence.  Exchange hugs instead of presents.  Do something enjoyable, not something expected.

One thing I do, however, love about everyone being involved in the madness of December 25 is traveling on Christmas day.  It’s probably the most peaceful day in the whole year for air travel.  This year, I flew from AUS to MCI via DFW.  Security was a breeze, my flights were all on time, and to top it all off, I got a Christmas gift from the flight attendant.  After questioning my age (“you must get that all the time”) she gave me and all those near me a free drink. It was great.

At A’s house, things are a little more hectic than flying.  Four children age 8 and under, who have been staying up later than normal and eating more sugar than they ought, are pretty crazy to be around.  Sunday was pretty rough. A and I escaped to see Little Fockers that night though.  It was good–maybe no so much as the first one, but definitely worth seeing.  Unfortunately, they let ĥomoj in the theatre, so there were folks laughing at parts that weren’t funny and covering up funny bits with their loudness.  Malŝatas. Speaking of movies, I never mentioned Tron: Legacy last week (I’ll blame exams and papers and all that nonsense).  I enjoyed it, but I don’t know that I would have been able to get into it had I not seen the original film.  Definitely watch that one first.

Monday–after an earlier bedtime last night–was better.  We played lots of wii (their Christmas present from the gradmas) and went iceskating.  I have a new goal: learn to ice skate well enough to be able to help my children before my children are old enough to ice skate.

Tuesday la patrino came in and Wednesday we trekked back home.  Both nights I engaged in an abnormal-for-me activity: college football watching.  I think the real reason I don’t watch it, is because I know I’d become entirely way too passionate.  The game Tuesday night was the Insight Bowl.  I was ready to argue with the refs through the television set (if you watched it, please agree that that catch was good–or at least not definitively enough otherwise to reverse the call).  In case you can’t tell, I was cheering for MU.

Thursday was a brief reunion along with a viewing of Toy Story 3.  No tears this time, and it was nice to catch up with a few friends.  I was also introduced to Millionaire Matchmaker.  There are simply no words for how awkward it is.  But can I stop watching? Not as easily as I’d like to be able to.

The current struggle: it’s been long enough now that I’m definitely missing some Rochester friends–but a weekend full of at home friends should make it better. :]

  1. I flew on 9/11 a couple years ago; the experience was similarly uncrowded and super-easy.

    Happy New Year!

    • Oh, I hadn’t thought of that–I guess I never have occasion to fly in September either. I’ll have to keep that in mind in the future should that change.

      Happy New Year to you too! :]

    • Caitlin
    • January 2nd, 2011
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

