laissez les bons temps rouler!

Confession: beyond a piece of king cake (okay, two pieces–I couldn’t decide what flavor to make!), Mardi Gras was pretty much just a Tuesday. Nice that there was no class, I guess (though I really enjoy one of those Tuesday classes!). Unnice that the weather is dreary. Nice to see friends from long ago (no snarky comments about exactly how long ago–or not–long ago was for me). And I doubt I’ll be observing Lent (I don’t have any bad habits that I’m willing to part with), so no need to go all out on the night before, right? And besides, it’s too cold for booze and boobs outdoors anyway.

We were going to go out to eat, but it’s more exhausting for me to go out and figure out ordering, so I decided to cook instead. A safe recipe of “couscous with stuff in it.” (Yes, that’s related to my other signature dishes: “rice with stuff in it,” “pasta with stuff in it,” and “miscellaneous carbohydrate with stuff in it.”) La patro stopped at TJ’s on his way from work to grab an onion and some couscous. Which he had never heard of. So he was afraid that he’d sound gay asking for it at the story. Logic: it runs in the family.

Now I’ll finish off the evening with some Basic Linguistic Theory. And maybe a beer–it is Mardi Gras after all…

  1. When I came out to my roommate Freshman year, he laughed and said he had figured as much. “No straight man would cook something called ‘couscous’.” lol

    Btw, I’ve taken a leaf out of your cookbook, and put away the measuring spoons. Many spectacular recipes have resulted from my newfound passion for culinary improvisation. đŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

